Selkirk Copper Announces Positive PEA for the Minto Project, Delivering After-Tax NPV of C$494M with 48% IRR

Original announcement by prospectors_exchange on

Company
Selkirk Copper Mines Inc.
Ticker
SCMI
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
Yukon, Canada
Primary commodity
Copper
Secondary commodities
Gold, Silver
Document categories
Resource update, Other
Extracted
2026-09-22 14:23:46 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Atlas analysis published:

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Selkirk Copper has announced a positive Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for the Minto Project in Yukon, reporting an after-tax NPV of C$494M and a 48% IRR at planning prices. The study highlights a 13-year mine life and significant resource growth, with M&I tonnes increasing by 280% compared to the 2025 estimate.

Reasoning: The announcement of a positive PEA with robust economics and significant resource expansion represents a major project milestone.

Positive factors

  • Strong economic indicators (NPV C$494M, 48% IRR)
  • Significant resource growth (M&I tonnes up 280%)
  • High capital efficiency ratio
  • Utilization of existing infrastructure

Negative factors

  • PEA is a low-confidence study level
  • Inferred resources are significant
  • Sensitivity to copper price and exchange rates

Facts used in scoring: 6

Classification and evidence

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: The announcement presents a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for the Minto Project.

Evidence · text

“Selkirk Copper Announces Positive PEA for the Minto Project”

Tonnage Growthpositive

Significant tonnage increase (≥15%) vs prior estimate with grade maintained or improved.

Why it applies: Measured & Indicated Resources increased by 280% compared to the 2025 MRE.

Evidence · text

“increased Measured & Indicated Resources in the 2026 Mineral Resource Estimate (“MRE”) by 280%”

Contained Metal Growthpositive

True scale improvement — contained metal ounces/tonnes increased vs prior, accounting for both tonnage and grade changes.

Why it applies: Contained copper, gold, and silver increased by 182%, 184% and 188% respectively.

Evidence · text

“increased contained copper, gold, and silver by 182%, 184% and 188% respectively”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 6. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (6)

indicatedminto project · copperTonnes: 25679000Grade: 1.15Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
minto project
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon, Canada
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-06-10T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Sue Bird
Resource group id
resource:5e30ea56e65103028bfb
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
25679000
Grade
1.15
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-06-10

Metal Equivalent

Assumptions Disclosed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the 2026 MRE.

Evidence · text

“25.679 million tonnes at 1.15% copper”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

indicatedminto project · goldTonnes: 25679000Grade: 0.489Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
minto project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon, Canada
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-06-10T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Sue Bird
Resource group id
resource:5e30ea56e65103028bfb
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
25679000
Grade
0.489
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-06-10

Metal Equivalent

Assumptions Disclosed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the 2026 MRE.

Evidence · text

“0.489 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

indicatedminto project · silverTonnes: 25679000Grade: 4.08Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
minto project
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon, Canada
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-06-10T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Sue Bird
Resource group id
resource:5e30ea56e65103028bfb
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
25679000
Grade
4.08
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-06-10

Metal Equivalent

Assumptions Disclosed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the 2026 MRE.

Evidence · text

“4.08 g/t silver”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredminto project · copperTonnes: 16900000Grade: 0.76Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
minto project
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon, Canada
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-06-10T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Sue Bird
Resource group id
resource:584921b10bbc1e9f2384
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
16900000
Grade
0.76
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-06-10

Metal Equivalent

Assumptions Disclosed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the 2026 MRE.

Negative factors

  • Inferred category is speculative

Evidence · text

“16.9 million tonnes at 0.76% copper”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredminto project · goldTonnes: 16900000Grade: 0.26Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
minto project
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon, Canada
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-06-10T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Sue Bird
Resource group id
resource:584921b10bbc1e9f2384
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
16900000
Grade
0.26
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-06-10

Metal Equivalent

Assumptions Disclosed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the 2026 MRE.

Negative factors

  • Inferred category is speculative

Evidence · text

“0.26 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredminto project · silverTonnes: 16900000Grade: 2.7Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
minto project
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_yt
Reported Region
Yukon, Canada
Ticker
SCMI

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Effective date
2026-06-10T00:00:00.000Z
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
QP Signed
Yes
Qualified person names
Sue Bird
Resource group id
resource:584921b10bbc1e9f2384
Mining method
combined

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
16900000
Grade
2.7
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2026-06-10

Metal Equivalent

Assumptions Disclosed
Yes

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the 2026 MRE.

Negative factors

  • Inferred category is speculative

Evidence · text

“2.7 g/t silver”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

QP/CP Signedpositive

Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.

Why it applies: qp_signed is true

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.