Sage Potash Completes a PEA That Delivers After-Tax NPV of US$502 Million and IRR of 39%

Original announcement by yahoo_press on

Company
Sage Potash
Ticker
SAGE
Exchange
TSXV
Region
Unavailable
Primary commodity
Potash
Secondary commodities
Potassium
Document categories
Resource update, Other
Extracted
2026-09-19 12:21:59 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Atlas analysis published:

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Sage Potash has completed a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for its potash project, reporting an after-tax NPV of US$502 million and an IRR of 39%. The project is supported by an inferred resource of 298 million tonnes at 42.1% KCl grade.

Reasoning: The announcement of a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for a large inferred potash resource with strong economic indicators (NPV/IRR) is highly material for an explorer.

Positive factors

  • Strong project economics with US$502M NPV and 39% IRR
  • Large inferred resource of 298 Mt
  • High grade potash (42.1% KCl)
  • Low insolubles and carnallite

Negative factors

  • Resource is entirely in the Inferred category
  • PEA is a low-confidence study level

Low confidence — this extraction should be reviewed alongside the original source.

Facts used in scoring: 2

Classification and evidence

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: The resource is explicitly stated as being in the inferred category.

Evidence · text

“inferred resource of 298 million metric tonnes”

Maiden Resourceneutral

First formal MRE for the project — establishes baseline but typically exploration-stage with high Inferred component.

Why it applies: The PEA establishes the baseline economics for the project.

Evidence · text

“Completes a PEA That Delivers”

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: The document is the announcement of a Preliminary Economic Assessment.

Evidence · text

“Completes a PEA”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (2)

inferredpotashTonnes: 298000000Grade: 42.1Grade Unit: % KClView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Commodity
potash
Ticker
SAGE

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:3efdb6c71a0190853e3a

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
298000000
Grade
42.1
Grade Unit
% KCl

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-09-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Large scale inferred resource with high grade.

Positive factors

  • Large tonnage (298 Mt)
  • High grade (42.1% KCl)

Negative factors

  • Inferred category only

Evidence · text

“inferred resource of 298 million metric tonnes, with 42.1% KCl grade”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

inferredpotassiumTonnes: 298000000Grade: 26.6Grade Unit: % K2OView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Commodity
potassium
Ticker
SAGE

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:3efdb6c71a0190853e3a

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
298000000
Grade
26.6
Grade Unit
% K2O

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2025-09-23T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Secondary grade component of the potash resource.

Positive factors

  • High grade (26.6% K2O)

Negative factors

  • Inferred category only

Evidence · text

“26.6% K2O”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

PEA-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.