Osisko Metals to Create New Critical Minerals Company

Original announcement by orestocks on

Company
Osisko Metals Incorporated
Ticker
OM
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
New Brunswick
Primary commodity
Copper
Secondary commodities
Silver, Gold, Zinc, Lead
Document categories
Resource update, Agreement transaction
Extracted
2026-09-15 20:50:05 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Atlas analysis published:

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Osisko Metals has announced plans to spin out its non-core New Brunswick properties into a new entity, Osisko Critical Minerals Corporation (OCMC), led by CEO John Burzynski. The transaction aims to unlock value from copper, silver, and gold exploration targets, including the Key Anacon and Gilmour South resources. The company will retain a minority interest in the new vehicle.

Reasoning: The announcement details a significant corporate restructuring via a spin-out of non-core critical mineral assets into a new entity, while also restating existing resource data for the Bathurst Mining Camp.

Positive factors

  • Creation of a dedicated critical minerals vehicle (OCMC)
  • Transfer of large-scale exploration targets in New Brunswick
  • Strategic spin-out to unlock non-core asset value
  • Presence of existing mineral resources in the Bathurst Mining Camp

Negative factors

  • Transaction subject to financing and regulatory approvals
  • Mount Fronsac resource is historical and non-compliant

Facts used in scoring: 13

Classification and evidence

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: The document provides updated/restated resource figures for the Bathurst Mining Camp and Mount Fronsac.

Evidence · text

“The main assets within the Bathurst Mining Camp (“BMC”) holdings include the Key Anacon and Gilmour South Mineral Resource”

Historical Estimate Onlynegative

Estimate pre-dates or does not comply with current JORC/NI 43-101 standards — requires verification drilling.

Why it applies: The Mount Fronsac resource is explicitly stated as historical and non-NI 43-101 compliant.

Evidence · text

“The Mount Fronsac deposit contains an historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate”

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: The Mount Fronsac historical estimate does not name a responsible QP/CP.

Evidence · text

“A qualified person has not done sufficient work to classify the historical estimate as a current mineral resource.”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 13. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (13)

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · zincTonnes: 1960000Grade: 5.77Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:a6e5904d3e7b9eadd5d2
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
5.77
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
9
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“5.77”

Context: 1.96

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · leadTonnes: 1960000Grade: 2.38Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:a6e5904d3e7b9eadd5d2
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
2.38
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
9
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“2.38”

Context: 1.96

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · copperTonnes: 1960000Grade: 0.22Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:a6e5904d3e7b9eadd5d2
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
0.22
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
9
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“0.22”

Context: 1.96

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

indicatedBathurst Mining Camp · silverTonnes: 1960000Grade: 68.9Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:a6e5904d3e7b9eadd5d2
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
1960000
Grade
68.9
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
9
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“68.9”

Context: 1.96

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · zincTonnes: 3850000Grade: 5.34Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:bb98190dd157a64e9107
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
5.34
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
7.96
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“5.34”

Context: 3.85

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · leadTonnes: 3850000Grade: 1.49Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:bb98190dd157a64e9107
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
1.49
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
7.96
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“1.49”

Context: 3.85

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · copperTonnes: 3850000Grade: 0.32Grade Unit: %View all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:bb98190dd157a64e9107
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
0.32
Grade Unit
%

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
7.96
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“0.32”

Context: 3.85

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

inferredBathurst Mining Camp · silverTonnes: 3850000Grade: 47.7Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Bathurst Mining Camp
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
ni_43_101
Resource group id
resource:bb98190dd157a64e9107
Deposit or zone
Key Anacon and Gilmour South

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
3850000
Grade
47.7
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2019-02-20

Metal Equivalent

Metal Eq. Grade
7.96
Metal Eq. Unit
% ZnEq

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Inferred resource component of the Key Anacon and Gilmour South estimate.

Evidence · table

“47.7”

Context: 3.85

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

NI 43-101 Compliantpositive

Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.

Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 7.6 years before this release

Mount FronsacMount Fronsac · zincTonnes: 1260000Grade: 7.65Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
zinc
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
other
Resource group id
resource:8e4c98ea5ed5350fff53
Deposit or zone
Mount Fronsac

Resource Data

Tonnes
1260000
Grade
7.65
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant, unclassified resource estimate.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“historical, non-NI 43-101 compliant, unclassified mineral resource estimate of 1.26 million tonnes averaging 7.65 % Zn”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Mount FronsacMount Fronsac · leadTonnes: 1260000Grade: 2.18Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
lead
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
other
Resource group id
resource:8e4c98ea5ed5350fff53
Deposit or zone
Mount Fronsac

Resource Data

Tonnes
1260000
Grade
2.18
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant, unclassified resource estimate.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“2.18 % Pb”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Mount FronsacMount Fronsac · copperTonnes: 1260000Grade: 0.14Grade Unit: %Historical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
copper
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
other
Resource group id
resource:8e4c98ea5ed5350fff53
Deposit or zone
Mount Fronsac

Resource Data

Tonnes
1260000
Grade
0.14
Grade Unit
%

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant, unclassified resource estimate.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“0.14% Cu”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Mount FronsacMount Fronsac · silverTonnes: 1260000Grade: 40.3Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
silver
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
other
Resource group id
resource:8e4c98ea5ed5350fff53
Deposit or zone
Mount Fronsac

Resource Data

Tonnes
1260000
Grade
40.3
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant, unclassified resource estimate.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“40.3 g/t Ag”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

Mount FronsacMount Fronsac · goldTonnes: 1260000Grade: 0.4Grade Unit: g/tHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Mount Fronsac
Commodity
gold
Region
canada_nb
Reported Region
New Brunswick
Ticker
OM

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Reporting standards
other
Resource group id
resource:8e4c98ea5ed5350fff53
Deposit or zone
Mount Fronsac

Resource Data

Tonnes
1260000
Grade
0.4
Grade Unit
g/t

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
historical_restatement
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-15T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical, non-compliant, unclassified resource estimate.

Negative factors

  • Non-NI 43-101 compliant
  • Unclassified resource

Evidence · text

“0.40 g/t Au”

Tags used in scoring

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.