LithiumBank Advances Boardwalk Permitting Pathway as Environmental Field Surveys Begin
Original announcement by newsfile on
- Company
- LithiumBank Resources Corp.
- Ticker
- LBNK
- Exchange
- Unavailable
- Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Primary commodity
- Lithium
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Permitting
- Extracted
- 2026-09-21 12:05:46 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Atlas analysis published:
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
LithiumBank has commenced environmental baseline field surveys at its Boardwalk Lithium Brine Project to support an EPEA application. The company is advancing these regulatory steps in parallel with an ongoing feasibility study and engineering design work being conducted by SLB.
Reasoning: The announcement focuses on regulatory progress (permitting) and restates existing resource figures to provide context for the project's current stage.
Positive factors
- Advancement of permitting pathway via environmental baseline studies
- Large lithium brine resource scale
- Ongoing feasibility study and FEED in parallel
Negative factors
- Resource is not a reserve and lacks demonstrated economic viability
Facts used in scoring: 7
Classification and evidence
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: The resource estimate is based on a NI 43-101 Technical Report.
Evidence · text
“LithiumBank Resources Corp. Boardwalk NI 43-101 Technical Report”
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: Kevin Piepgrass, P. Geo, is named as the Qualified Person.
Evidence · text
“reviewed and approved by Kevin Piepgrass, P. Geo, who is a Qualified Person (QP)”
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: A significant portion of the resource is categorized as Inferred.
Evidence · text
“2.8 Mt Inferred Lithium Carbonate Equivariant (" LCE ") resource”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 7. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (7)
indicatedBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 5200000Grade: 81.6Grade Unit: mg/LHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:797306e9be21e99a8d88
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 5200000
- Grade
- 81.6
- Grade Unit
- mg/L
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-02-20T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Restatement of existing resource totals from a previous technical report.
Evidence · text
“Boardwalk hosts an estimated 5.2 Mt Measured & Indicated and 2.8 Mt Inferred Lithium Carbonate Equivariant (" LCE ") resource”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 2800000Grade: 81.6Grade Unit: mg/LHistorical resultNeeds review: historical_restatementView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:54f46d5f1d0e3060ab2b
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 2800000
- Grade
- 81.6
- Grade Unit
- mg/L
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- Yes
- Review Reason
- historical_restatement
- Historical
- Yes
- Historical Source Date
- 2025-02-20T00:00:00.000Z
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Restatement of existing inferred resource totals.
Evidence · text
“2.8 Mt Inferred Lithium Carbonate Equivariant (" LCE ") resource”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
measuredBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 91000Grade: 71.8Grade Unit: mg/L lithiumView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:9093a4931c0d4e99d3da
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 91000
- Grade
- 71.8
- Grade Unit
- mg/L lithium
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Measured resource component for Leduc oil saturated zone.
Evidence · table
“71.8”
Context: 91,000
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
measuredBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 1580000Grade: 81.8Grade Unit: mg/L lithiumView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:0a639fbab0ee556fb96a
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 1580000
- Grade
- 81.8
- Grade Unit
- mg/L lithium
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Measured resource component for Leduc water saturated zone.
Evidence · table
“81.8”
Context: 1,580,000
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 3524000Grade: 81.8Grade Unit: mg/L lithiumView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:f298c124f862aca326ef
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 3524000
- Grade
- 81.8
- Grade Unit
- mg/L lithium
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Indicated resource component for Leduc water saturated zone.
Evidence · table
“81.8”
Context: 3,524,000
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 1128000Grade: 81.8Grade Unit: mg/L lithiumView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:8dc09cd149e293f74b24
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 1128000
- Grade
- 81.8
- Grade Unit
- mg/L lithium
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Inferred resource component for Leduc water saturated zone.
Evidence · table
“81.8”
Context: 1,128,000
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredBoardwalk · lithiumTonnes: 1649000Grade: 78.1Grade Unit: mg/L lithiumView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Boardwalk
- Commodity
- lithium
- Region
- canada_ab
- Reported Region
- Alberta, Canada
- Ticker
- LBNK
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Kevin Piepgrass
- Resource group id
- resource:64f41aabf63414cddbfa
- Mining method
- underground
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 1649000
- Grade
- 78.1
- Grade Unit
- mg/L lithium
- Cutoff Grade
- 50
- Cutoff Unit
- mg/L Li
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2025-02-20
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Inferred resource component for Beaverhill Lake/Swan Hills.
Evidence · table
“78.1”
Context: 1,649,000
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Disclosedpositive
Cut-off grade used for resource reporting is clearly stated, enabling like-for-like comparison.
Why it applies: cutoff_grade is stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.