Gunnison Copper Submits Mined Land Reclamation Plan Permit Amendment and Outlines Path to Fully Permitted Gunnison Project by Mid-2028
Original announcement by orestocks on
- Company
- Gunnison Copper Corp.
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
- Exchange
- Unavailable
- Region
- Arizona
- Primary commodity
- Copper
- Secondary commodities
- Zinc, Silver
- Document categories
- Resource update, Permitting
- Extracted
- 2026-09-17 11:15:03 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Atlas analysis published:
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Gunnison Copper has submitted an amendment to its Mined Land Reclamation Plan (MLRP) for the Gunnison Project in Arizona, with approval expected by year-end 2026. The company also outlined timelines for Aquifer Protection and Air Quality permit amendments, targeting a fully permitted project by mid-2028.
Reasoning: The company is advancing its permitting roadmap for the Gunnison Project, which is a critical de-risking step for a potential 2028 FID.
Positive factors
- Submission of MLRP permit amendment
- Clear permitting timeline outlined
- Proven track record with Johnson Camp Mine
Negative factors
- Permitting remains a significant hurdle
- Project timeline depends on successful feasibility study
Facts used in scoring: 6
Classification and evidence
QA/QC Disclosedpositive · Story-specific tag
Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).
Why it applies: The release mentions a NI 43-101 Technical Report and a Qualified Person (Dr. Roland Goodgame) has reviewed and approved the technical information.
Evidence · text
“Dr. Roland Goodgame, Senior VP of Project Development of the Company is a Qualified Person as defined by NI 43-101. Dr. Goodgame has reviewed and approved the technical information contained in this news release.”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 6. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (6)
measuredGunnison Project · copperTonnes: 192000000Grade: 0.37Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 1420000000Contained Unit: lbsView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Gunnison Project
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- usa_az
- Reported Region
- Arizona
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2026-03-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Dr. Roland Goodgame
- Resource group id
- resource:4e614f42d8ddda854b3b
- Deposit or zone
- main pit
- Mining method
- open_pit
Resource Data
- Category
- measured
- Tonnes
- 192000000
- Grade
- 0.37
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 1420000000
- Contained Unit
- lbs
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-03-18
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Measured resource component of the flagship project.
Positive factors
- High contained copper
Evidence · text
“Measured Mineral Resource of 192 million tons at 0.37% containing 1.42 billion pounds of copper”
Tags used in scoring
Measured Resourcepositive
Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "measured"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
indicatedGunnison Project · copperTonnes: 655000000Grade: 0.31Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 3770000000Contained Unit: lbsView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Gunnison Project
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- usa_az
- Reported Region
- Arizona
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2026-03-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Dr. Roland Goodgame
- Resource group id
- resource:ced2bf7e71332b79208b
- Deposit or zone
- main pit
- Mining method
- open_pit
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 655000000
- Grade
- 0.31
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 3770000000
- Contained Unit
- lbs
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-03-18
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Indicated resource component of the flagship project.
Positive factors
- Large indicated resource
Evidence · text
“Indicated Mineral Resource of 655 million tons at 0.31% containing 3.77 billion pounds of copper”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredGunnison Project · copperTonnes: 76000000Grade: 0.49Grade Unit: %Contained Metal: 740000000Contained Unit: lbsView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Gunnison Project
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- usa_az
- Reported Region
- Arizona
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2026-03-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Dr. Roland Goodgame
- Resource group id
- resource:7d48052dfb7c1be79615
- Deposit or zone
- Strong & Harris satellite deposit
- Mining method
- open_pit
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 76000000
- Grade
- 0.49
- Grade Unit
- %
- Contained Metal
- 740000000
- Contained Unit
- lbs
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-03-18
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Inferred resource for satellite deposit.
Positive factors
- Significant copper content in satellite deposit
Negative factors
- Inferred category
Evidence · text
“hosts an Inferred Mineral Resource of 76 million tons grading 0.49% total copper”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredGunnison Project · copperTonnes: 76000000Grade: 0.32Grade Unit: % CuOxView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Gunnison Project
- Commodity
- copper
- Region
- usa_az
- Reported Region
- Arizona
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2026-03-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Dr. Roland Goodgame
- Resource group id
- resource:7d48052dfb7c1be79615
- Deposit or zone
- Strong & Harris satellite deposit
- Mining method
- open_pit
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 76000000
- Grade
- 0.32
- Grade Unit
- % CuOx
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-03-18
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Oxide copper component of the inferred resource.
Evidence · text
“0.32% CuOx”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredGunnison Project · zincTonnes: 76000000Grade: 0.56Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Gunnison Project
- Commodity
- zinc
- Region
- usa_az
- Reported Region
- Arizona
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2026-03-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Dr. Roland Goodgame
- Resource group id
- resource:7d48052dfb7c1be79615
- Deposit or zone
- Strong & Harris satellite deposit
- Mining method
- open_pit
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 76000000
- Grade
- 0.56
- Grade Unit
- %
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-03-18
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Zinc byproduct in inferred resource.
Evidence · text
“0.56% zinc”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredGunnison Project · silverTonnes: 76000000Grade: 0.12Grade Unit: oz/tonContained Metal: 9Contained Unit: mozView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Gunnison Project
- Commodity
- silver
- Region
- usa_az
- Reported Region
- Arizona
- Ticker
- GCU.TO
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Effective date
- 2026-03-18T00:00:00.000Z
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Dr. Roland Goodgame
- Resource group id
- resource:7d48052dfb7c1be79615
- Deposit or zone
- Strong & Harris satellite deposit
- Mining method
- open_pit
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 76000000
- Grade
- 0.12
- Grade Unit
- oz/ton
- Contained Metal
- 9
- Contained Unit
- moz
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-03-18
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-17T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Silver byproduct in inferred resource.
Evidence · text
“0.12 oz/ton silver, containing approximately ... 9.0 million ounces”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
PFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Pre-Feasibility Study — requires adequate M&I component.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.