Donlin Gold partners form new NovaGold

Original announcement by miningnewsnorth on

Company
Novagold Resources Inc.
Ticker
NG
Exchange
Unavailable
Region
Alaska
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Resource update, Agreement transaction
Extracted
2026-09-19 01:40:26 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Atlas analysis published:

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

Novagold Resources Inc. and John Paulson have agreed to consolidate ownership of the Donlin Gold project into a new U.S.-domiciled entity, NovaGold Corp. This move resolves a long-standing joint venture deadlock and aims to expedite the development of the 40-million-ounce gold resource.

Reasoning: The consolidation of Donlin Gold ownership into a single entity (NovaGold Corp) significantly de-risks the project's governance and streamlines the path to development for a world-class gold asset.

Positive factors

  • Consolidation of ownership into a single U.S.-domiciled entity
  • Streamlined decision-making for Donlin Gold project
  • Large scale 40 million ounce gold resource
  • Resolution of long-standing joint venture deadlock

Negative factors

  • Transaction requires shareholder and regulatory approvals

Facts used in scoring: 3

Classification and evidence

Resource Updateneutral

Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.

Why it applies: The document provides updated resource figures (560 Mt @ 2.22 g/t Au) compared to historical studies.

Evidence · text

“confirmed and expanded slightly with a 2024 calculation”

Agreement/Transactionpositive · Story-specific tag

No canonical definition is currently available.

Why it applies: The primary news is the agreement to consolidate ownership into a new corporation.

Evidence · text

“Novagold and John Paulson have agreed to consolidate Donlin Gold ownership into a new U.S.-domiciled NovaGold Corp.”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 3. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Resource Estimates (3)

indicatedDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 560000000Grade: 2.22Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:0ce864ead583eb8bd5ee
Deposit or zone
Donlin
Ownership percent
60 %

Resource Data

Category
indicated
Tonnes
560000000
Grade
2.22
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2024-01-01

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-07-24T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Significant indicated resource component for a major gold project.

Positive factors

  • Large scale resource

Evidence · text

“560 metric tons of measured and indicated resources averaging 2.22 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

Indicated Resourcepositive

Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "indicated"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 2.6 years before this release

measuredDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 560000000Grade: 2.22Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:b45e711e11a1a59367c6
Deposit or zone
Donlin
Ownership percent
60 %

Resource Data

Category
measured
Tonnes
560000000
Grade
2.22
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2024-01-01

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-07-24T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Significant measured resource component for a major gold project.

Positive factors

  • Large scale resource

Evidence · text

“560 metric tons of measured and indicated resources averaging 2.22 g/t gold”

Tags used in scoring

Measured Resourcepositive

Highest confidence category — tonnage, grade, shape well-established from closely-spaced drilling. Basis for Proven Reserves.

Why it applies: category is "measured"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 2.6 years before this release

inferredDonlin Gold · goldTonnes: 88900000Grade: 2.03Grade Unit: g/tView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Donlin Gold
Commodity
gold
Region
usa_ak
Reported Region
Alaska
Ticker
NG

Resource scope

Estimate type
resource
Resource group id
resource:05d1c7acb177108108ee
Deposit or zone
Donlin
Ownership percent
60 %

Resource Data

Category
inferred
Tonnes
88900000
Grade
2.03
Grade Unit
g/t

Prior Estimate

Resource Date
2024-01-01

Review

Needs Review
No
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-07-24T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Substantial inferred resource providing upside potential.

Positive factors

  • Significant inferred tonnage

Evidence · text

“88.9 metric tons of inferred resource averaging 2.03 g/t (5.8 million oz) gold”

Tags used in scoring

Inferred Resourcenegative

Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.

Why it applies: category is "inferred"

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

No Contained Metalnegative

Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.

Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported

No QP/CP Disclosurenegative

No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.

Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release

DFS-Supportingneutral

Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.

Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports

Stale Estimatenegative

Effective date is >2 years old — data currency concern, may not reflect current geological understanding.

Why it applies: effective date is 2.6 years before this release

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.