DES: Annual Report to shareholders

Original announcement by asx on

Company
DeSoto Resources Limited
Ticker
DES
Exchange
ASX
Region
Guinea
Primary commodity
Gold
Secondary commodities
None reported
Document categories
Agreement transaction, Drill results, Other
Extracted
2026-09-22 02:11:35 UTC

Analysis by Minestarters Atlas

Atlas analysis published:

Minestarters Atlas analysis

Summary

DeSoto Resources Limited's 2026 Annual Report highlights a year of active gold exploration in Guinea's Siguiri Basin, significantly expanding its landholding to 1,300 km2. Key achievements include forming an exploration alliance with Fortuna Mining, successfully raising A$14.0 million, and advancing multiple gold targets with encouraging drill and sampling results. Despite these operational advancements, the company reported a substantial loss of $15.0 million and wrote off $6.3 million in exploration expenditure for its Northern Territory projects.

Reasoning: DeSoto Resources Limited's 2026 Annual Report details a year of significant operational growth and strategic development in its Guinea gold portfolio, including major land acquisitions, a new exploration alliance, and successful capital raising, despite reporting a substantial financial loss and exploration write-offs.

Positive factors

  • Significant landholding expansion in Guinea
  • Formation of a strategic exploration alliance with Fortuna Mining
  • Successful capital raise of A$14.0 million
  • Active exploration programs with encouraging drill and sampling results
  • Maiden RC drilling confirmed a large gold system

Negative factors

  • Substantial net loss for the year ($15.0 million)
  • Significant exploration expenditure write-off ($6.3 million) for Northern Territory projects
  • Foreign jurisdiction risk in Guinea
  • Tenure renewal risks in Guinea

Low confidence — this extraction should be reviewed alongside the original source.

Facts used in scoring: 18

Classification and evidence

QA/QC Disclosedpositive

Release includes QA/QC disclosure — certified lab, QP sign-off, or stated methods (blanks, standards, duplicates).

Why it applies: The Annual Report includes a Competent Persons Statement confirming compliance with JORC 2012.

Evidence · text

“Competent Persons Statement The information in this Annual Report that relates to exploration results is based on and fairly represents information and supporting documentation prepared by Ms Rebecca Morgan. Ms Morgan is a consultant to the company, is a member of the Australian Institute of Geoscientists and has sufficient experience of relevance to the styles of mineralisation and types of deposits under consideration, and to the activities undertaken to qualify as Competent Persons as defined in the 2012 Edition of the Joint Ore Reserves Committee (JORC) Australasian Code for Reporting of Exploration Results, Mineral Resources and Ore Reserves. Ms Morgan consents to the inclusion in this Annual Report of the matters based on this information in the form and context in which they appear.”

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: The reported channel sampling and drill intercepts do not state the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Evidence · text

“channel sampling within artisanal workings returned encouraging results from the Kodjarani and Koba prospects, including 2m @ 23.31g/t Au, 2.5m @ 3.57g/t Au, 1.3m @ 2.88g/t Au, 1.3m @ 2.52g/t Au and 4m @ 1.95g/t Au”

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: The document re-reports historical RC drill results from Timbakouna without new assays or reinterpretation.

Evidence · text

“Historical RC results included 18m @ 11.8g/t Au from 48m, including 1m @ 78.84g/t Au and 3m @ 40.4g/t Au”

Nearology Playneutral

Value premise rests on proximity to a known deposit rather than own results.

Why it applies: The Koba project is positioned by its proximity to the Tri-K and Bankan-Kiniero gold deposits.

Evidence · text

“Koba lies within DeSoto’s south-central project block between the Tri-K and Bankan-Kiniero gold deposits and was prioritised using the Company’s mineral systems approach.”

Extracted facts

Stored fact records: 4. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.

Drill Results (4)

Fact 1Tole · goldGrade: 18Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 8 mNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Tole
Commodity
gold
Region
guinea
Reported Region
guinea
Ticker
DES

Geometry

Grade
18
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
8 m
From
0 m
To
8 m
Intercept Depth
0 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
Tole:0-8

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
drill_no_hole_id
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
No

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: High-grade gold intercept from surface at Tole indicates strong mineralization.

Positive factors

  • High grade
  • Shallow intercept

Evidence · text

“The work included the reported intersection of 8 m @ 18 g/t Au from surface at Tole”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Fact 2Timbakouna · goldGrade: 11.8Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 18 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Timbakouna
Commodity
gold
Region
guinea
Reported Region
guinea
Ticker
DES

Geometry

Grade
11.8
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
18 m
From
48 m
To
66 m
Intercept Depth
48 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill
Group ID
Timbakouna:48-66

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
drill_no_hole_id
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical high-grade RC intercept at Timbakouna indicates significant gold mineralization, providing context for current exploration.

Positive factors

  • High grade
  • Significant width

Negative factors

  • Historical data

Evidence · text

“Historical RC results included 18m @ 11.8g/t Au from 48m”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

Fact 3Timbakouna · goldGrade: 78.84Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 1 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Timbakouna
Commodity
gold
Region
guinea
Reported Region
guinea
Ticker
DES

Geometry

Grade
78.84
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
1 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
drill_no_hole_id
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical bonanza-grade intercept within a broader zone at Timbakouna highlights high-grade potential.

Positive factors

  • Bonanza grade
  • Historical data indicates high-grade potential

Negative factors

  • Historical data

Evidence · text

“including 1m @ 78.84g/t Au”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

Fact 4Timbakouna · goldGrade: 40.4Grade Unit: g/tIntercept: 3 mHistorical resultNeeds review: drill_no_hole_idView all details
Link to this fact

Identity

Project
Timbakouna
Commodity
gold
Region
guinea
Reported Region
guinea
Ticker
DES

Geometry

Grade
40.4
Grade Unit
g/t
Intercept
3 m

Classification

Program
exploration
Sample Type
drill

Review

Needs Review
Yes
Review Reason
drill_no_hole_id
Interp. Status
scored
Historical
Yes

Dates

Event date
2026-09-22T00:00:00.000Z

Reasoning: Historical bonanza-grade intercept within a broader zone at Timbakouna highlights high-grade potential.

Positive factors

  • Bonanza grade
  • Historical data indicates high-grade potential

Negative factors

  • Historical data

Evidence · text

“and 3m @ 40.4g/t Au”

Tags used in scoring

No QA/QC Disclosurenegative

Release does not disclose QA/QC — lab certification, CP/QP sign-off and assay protocols cannot be checked from this document.

Why it applies: qaqc_disclosed is not true

Cut-off Undisclosednegative

High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.

Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated

Stale Data Re-releasenegative

Historical results re-announced with no new assays or reinterpretation — low genuine novelty.

Why it applies: the fact restates a prior release

How Atlas produces this analysis

Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.