Blencowe names interim CEO as Orom-Cross funding drive advances
Original announcement by miningweekly on
- Company
- Blencowe Resource
- Ticker
- Unavailable
- Exchange
- Unavailable
- Region
- Uganda
- Primary commodity
- Graphite
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-21 16:34:16 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Atlas analysis published:
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Blencowe Resource has appointed COO Iain Wearing as interim CEO to lead the Orom-Cross graphite project in Uganda through its Phase 1 funding and construction stages. The company is actively pursuing project-level financing and commercial agreements, supported by a DFS valuation of $1.2 billion.
Reasoning: The announcement covers executive leadership changes and updates on the Orom-Cross project's funding and resource status. While the resource/reserve figures are restated from a previous DFS, the news regarding the interim CEO and funding progress is current.
Positive factors
- Appointment of experienced interim CEO
- Strong DFS valuation of $1.2-billion
- Active discussions with DFIs and strategic partners
- Recent capital raising strengthening cash position
Negative factors
- Project funding for Phase 1 is still being secured
Facts used in scoring: 2
Classification and evidence
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: The document provides updated context and restates resource/reserve figures from the DFS.
Evidence · text
“In May, an updated DFS valued the Orom-Cross project at about $1.2-billion”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (2)
inferredOrom-Cross · graphiteTonnes: 64300000View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Orom-Cross
- Commodity
- graphite
- Region
- uganda
- Reported Region
- Uganda
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Resource group id
- resource:0049e848f71873c3ed0d
- Deposit or zone
- Orom-Cross
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 64300000
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Total mineral resource estimate provided by Minrom Consulting.
Positive factors
- Large scale resource
Evidence · text
“estimated the project's total mineral resources at 64.3-million tonnes”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
probableOrom-Cross · graphiteTonnes: 23000000Grade: 5.18Grade Unit: %View all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Orom-Cross
- Commodity
- graphite
- Region
- uganda
- Reported Region
- Uganda
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- reserve
- Resource group id
- resource:765863deabb04d583f1c
- Deposit or zone
- Orom-Cross
Resource Data
- Category
- probable
- Tonnes
- 23000000
- Grade
- 5.18
- Grade Unit
- %
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-21T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Ore reserve estimate provided by Minrom Consulting.
Positive factors
- Solid grade for graphite reserve
Evidence · text
“ore reserve stands at 23-million tonnes at 5.18% total graphitic carbon”
Tags used in scoring
Probable Reservepositive
Indicated Resource with demonstrated economic viability after applying modifying factors.
Why it applies: category is "probable"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
No QP/CP Disclosurenegative
No Qualified Person or Competent Person named — lower credibility for the estimate. A QP/CP should be a member of a recognized professional association with relevant experience.
Why it applies: no Qualified or Competent Person is named anywhere in the release
DFS-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Definitive Feasibility Study — requires high M&I confidence.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.