Abasca Announces Filing of Technical Report Regarding Positive Preliminary Economic Assessment for the Loki Flake Graphite Deposit and Private Placement of $2.25 Million
Original announcement by prospectors_exchange on
- Company
- Abasca Resources Inc.
- Ticker
- ABA
- Exchange
- Unavailable
- Region
- Saskatchewan, Canada
- Primary commodity
- Graphite
- Secondary commodities
- None reported
- Document categories
- Resource update, Other
- Extracted
- 2026-09-23 11:56:46 UTC
Analysis by Minestarters Atlas
Atlas analysis published:
Minestarters Atlas analysis
Summary
Abasca Resources has filed a NI 43-101 technical report containing a positive Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) for the Loki Flake Graphite Deposit, showing an after-tax NPV of US$130M. The report also includes a mineral resource update that converted 67% of prior Inferred resources into the Indicated category. Additionally, the company announced a $2.25 million private placement to fund ongoing exploration.
Reasoning: The announcement combines a significant resource update (conversion of Inferred to Indicated) with a positive Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) and successful capital raising.
Positive factors
- Positive PEA economics with US$130M after-tax NPV
- Significant resource conversion (67% of Inferred to Indicated)
- Successful private placement of $2.25M to fund exploration
- Long mine life of 19 years
Negative factors
- PEA is preliminary in nature and includes speculative Inferred resources
Facts used in scoring: 2
Classification and evidence
Category Upgradepositive
Resource confidence improved — Inferred upgraded to Indicated, or Indicated to Measured. De-risking signal.
Why it applies: Conversion of 67% of the prior Inferred Resource to Indicated Resource based on contained graphite
Evidence · text
“Conversion of 67% of the prior Inferred Resource to Indicated Resource”
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: Report prepared in accordance with NI 43-101 standards
Evidence · text
“prepared by Tetra Tech Canada Inc. ... in accordance with National Instrument 43-101”
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: Multiple Qualified Persons named and responsible for different aspects of the report
Evidence · text
“The scientific and technical information contained in this news release has been reviewed and approved by Brian McEwan, P.Geo., who is a Qualified Person”
Extracted facts
Stored fact records: 2. Some facts used in scoring do not have a stored record.
Resource Estimates (2)
indicatedLoki Flake Graphite Deposit · graphiteTonnes: 6990000Grade: 8.27Grade Unit: % CgView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Loki Flake Graphite Deposit
- Commodity
- graphite
- Region
- canada_sk
- Reported Region
- Saskatchewan, Canada
- Ticker
- ABA
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Brian McEwan, Matt Batty, Hasssan Ghaffari, Sabry Hafez, Jianhui Huang, Chris Johns
- Resource group id
- resource:61d5da6382ae47f91191
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- indicated
- Tonnes
- 6990000
- Grade
- 8.27
- Grade Unit
- % Cg
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-04-23
Location
- Loc. Confidence
- medium
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-23T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Indicated resource provides a solid base for economic studies.
Positive factors
- Indicated category provides higher geological confidence
Evidence · text
“Indicated Resources: 6.99 Million tonnes at 8.27% Cg”
Tags used in scoring
Indicated Resourcepositive
Reasonable geological confidence based on adequate drilling; continuity can be assumed. Basis for Probable Reserves.
Why it applies: category is "indicated"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
inferredLoki Flake Graphite Deposit · graphiteTonnes: 15830000Grade: 6.93Grade Unit: % CgView all detailsHide details
Identity
- Project
- Loki Flake Graphite Deposit
- Commodity
- graphite
- Region
- canada_sk
- Reported Region
- Saskatchewan, Canada
- Ticker
- ABA
Resource scope
- Estimate type
- resource
- Reporting standards
- ni_43_101
- QP Signed
- Yes
- Qualified person names
- Brian McEwan, Matt Batty, Hasssan Ghaffari, Sabry Hafez, Jianhui Huang, Chris Johns
- Resource group id
- resource:af77ec0f9f4a16d946e1
- Mining method
- open_pit
- Ownership percent
- 100 %
Resource Data
- Category
- inferred
- Tonnes
- 15830000
- Grade
- 6.93
- Grade Unit
- % Cg
Prior Estimate
- Resource Date
- 2026-04-23
Location
- Loc. Confidence
- medium
Review
- Needs Review
- No
- Historical
- No
Dates
- Event date
- 2026-09-23T00:00:00.000Z
Reasoning: Inferred resources represent higher geological risk.
Positive factors
- Large tonnage component
Negative factors
- Inferred category is speculative
Evidence · text
“Inferred Resources: 15.83 Million tonnes at 6.93% Cg”
Tags used in scoring
Inferred Resourcenegative
Speculative category — limited drilling, geological continuity assumed but not confirmed. Cannot support economic studies alone.
Why it applies: category is "inferred"
Cut-off Undisclosednegative
High-grade interval reported without stating the cut-off grade used for compositing.
Why it applies: no cutoff_grade was stated
QP/CP Signedpositive
Qualified Person (QP) or Competent Person (CP) named and signed off — a member of a recognized professional association (e.g., AusIMM, SME, AIG, P.Geo) with relevant experience.
Why it applies: qp_signed is true
NI 43-101 Compliantpositive
Resource estimate prepared in compliance with NI 43-101 (Canada) — high reporting standard.
Why it applies: reporting_standards includes ni_43_101
No Contained Metalnegative
Tonnage and grade reported but contained metal not calculated or disclosed — incomplete reporting.
Why it applies: contained_metal was not reported
Resource Updateneutral
Revised estimate for an existing resource — compare to prior to assess progress.
Why it applies: the release compares against a previous estimate
PEA-Supportingneutral
Resource estimate prepared to support a Preliminary Economic Assessment — early-stage study.
Why it applies: the release names the study this estimate supports
How Atlas produces this analysis
Minestarters Atlas uses automated extraction to summarize mining announcements, identify reported measurements, and classify supporting evidence. Sentiment reflects the extracted narrative and classification rules; it is an interpretation, not a reported measurement. Evidence quotes and context are provided where available. Missing data, low-confidence results, and review flags indicate limitations. Check the original publisher announcement before relying on an interpretation.